Dwarven Forgery!

4 07 2010

So anyone who has been in the tabletop gaming world for a while knows all about the Dwarven Forge.  I saw my first set of these at a game store maybe 9 years ago, and have continued to admire them from afar ever since.  I always have a lot of trouble dropping money on things that I feel, “I could just make that myself.”  I go to the renaissance fair and wander around all day looking at the handmade wares and thinking, yea… I could make that, I have made that, That’s pretty cool, I need to make that.  I always told myself I would get around to building some “dwarven forgeries” for my own D&D use, but projects would come up, life, kids, and so on.  Recently I had to stop sculpting because of medical reasons and over 50 pounds of plasticine clay has been sitting in my art cabinet with nothing to do.

Imagine my surprise and joy to wake up the other day and discover that my son and his friend had begun building us a set of dwarven forgery dungeon tiles.  Hallways, functional doors, staircases, a fountain, pillars; it is wonderful.  Now let me throw this out there, these are not the professionally sculpted stone by stone, ultra realistic hand painted masterpieces you would find on the Dwarven Forge website.   Those guys are THE BEST.  But the tiles my son crafted are very exceptional, very sturdy, and extremely functional.  In short, they blow the dry erase battlemat out of the water and they get the job done.

As my son becomes more and more interested in “the hobby” of dungeons and dragons, as opposed to just “the game” of D&D, I find his capacity for creativity in both writing and art to be increasing at an exponential rate.  Just today he and his friend hand painted an entire batch of pewter minis and built even more dwarven forgery tiles for the ever-expanding set.  He has taken on the mantle of dungeon master and assumed the role with excitement and dignity.  Each week I watch him test the rules of the system more and more as he explores the various ways terrain, traps, roleplaying and monsters can be combined into new and exciting encounters.

Expect some in-game photos of the dwarven forgeries and new painted minis in action in future posts.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

